Marriage

Things I don’t believe in: the institution of marriage as a whole for me.

Things I do believe in: the marriage of runny, neon orange egg yolks with anything else on the plate.

Who cares about spending the rest of your life with one other person when you have THIS?

Once again, Fickle Creek Farm has produced the most glorious, bright, psychedelic yellow yolk possible in chicken eggs — and these are a week old. It’s been a long, busy week; long enough, in fact, to make me not want to get up and go to the Durham Farmers’ Market this morning, but instead get up and sit out on the porch drinking a cup of coffee I made (instead of going to my regular Cocoa Cinnamon* after the market. And boy, did I need it. On the plus side, my porch is no longer a place to throw random stuff, and is now a livable space. Even if a corner of it is still empty pot storage… but I digress. My rosemary and lavender plants are in bigger pots and hopefully will be much happier now.

*If you live in the Triangle, you need to go there — I’ve been going 1-3 times a week every week since I moved here in mid-April, and I’ve yet to get the same thing twice. 

Seriously though. That yolk.
Last week, since I was buying a whole mutton shoulder, I really and truly tried to restrain myself on the other produce. I tried to get only what I needed for the shoulder and a side and then maybe some aromatics for rice and legumes and eggs the rest of the week.

How foolish of me.

I should know by now: I can’t trust myself at the market. Restraint? Pft, what’s that?!

Tomatillo sauce or slug vomit? I don't think slug vomit could be this delicious.

As I was on my way out, my eyes landed on these little beauties. Purple Majesty potatoes and Red Royal potatoes. Combined with the lone little Yukon Gold and some tomatillos I had leftover from the previous week (how the hell did I manage to have a single Yukon Gold leftover? I may never know), and kicked up a bit with a dusting of cumin, this quick little skillet was a hearty and delicious lunch. True to my nature, though, I had some minced lemon balm and a lemon out ready for the final garnishes, and in my hunger and excitement, I completely forgot them until I had finished eating and was cleaning up. Oy. Don’t be like me. Remember the citrus and herbage.

It may not be the most beautiful in the world — tomatillos, when roasted, can get to be a kind of disgusting looking green — but it’s full of flavor and nutrition. As an added bonus, if you manage to get your hands on some of those multi-colored potatoes (especially the purple ones!), it does look magnificently more beautiful.

While I know it’s not an option for many, I urge you, if you can, to seek out those magnificent little purple potatoes. Try your local farmers market, co-op, or Whole Foods. Their texture is less starchy and quite creamy. The Red Royals are similar to the red potatoes you find in your supermarket, but like the purples, are less starchy and creamier. The purples have the added benefit of having extra nutrition due to the increased antioxidant levels, which lower blood pressure and help reduce free radicals which contribute, long-term, to cancer, heart disease, and stroke. Like blueberries and red wine, they have a ton of polyphenols, which play an important part in overall good health.  You can read more about the potential health benefits of these purple guys here, as much as I hate calling something a “super food”. Given America’s propensity for potatoes, it shows promise of making them more of a health food if we can push to get these little beauties mainstream.

Chester waits patiently for his turn to lick the plate. Or eat it more than the single potato chunk he got that fell on the floor.

 

Roasted Potato and Tomatillo Skillet

Ingredients

~ 3 cups small waxy/non-starchy potatoes, halved/quartered, preferably a mix of Purple Majesty and Red Royals*
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 heaping cup tomatillo, diced small
1/4 tsp cumin
2-3 eggs
(Squeeze of lemon, optional)
(Cilantro, optional)

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 °F. Rinse well, then halve or quarter your potatoes. Put in your oven-safe 10-12″ skillet and drizzle with about a tablespoon of oil, then sprinkle with salt and cumin. Toss.

Once the oven has pre-heated, put the potatoes in the oven and roast, undisturbed, for about 10 minutes (you can use this time to prep your tomatillos). Add the tomatillos to your skillet, toss everything a bit, then roast for 10 more minutes.

Scoot your vegetables to one side and crack your eggs to one side. Put the skillet back in the oven for 4 minutes (runny yolk, done whites) or more to your liking. Remove from oven, add your squeeze of lemon and cilantro if you want. Stuff in your face, making sure to sop up every bit of that delicious, golden runny yolk sauce.

*Other options include fingerling potatoes, new potatoes, round red potatoes

Leave a Reply

